You think it’s a game


XCOM may have a future
February 18, 2007, 8:10 pm
Filed under: Gaming

xcom

A couple months back i stated to a friend of mine that somebody should make a new XCOM game. Back in 1995 XCOM: Terror from the deep was my game of the year. A extremely complex and challenging game for the 12 year old me. I remember the feeling i experienced when recovering alien artifacts and researching them to create weapons, truly unique. The turn based combat was tense, and packed with strategic drama. Maybe my glasses are rose tinted as i haven’t played any of the XCOM titles for many years, but i’d go out on a limb and say they were some of the best games of all time.

So rumors that Irrational Games may be making a upcoming XCOM game gave me a huge nerdgasm. Irrational are currently working on a game called Bioshock for the Xbox 360, which is shaping up nicely.

XCOM is a franchise which has a huge following, and in my opinion is a difficult game to bring up to date, but i’m pleading with the gaming gods to let this game be great.

I made the mistake of comparing Mass Effect and XCOM, to which my brother and a friend proceeded to flame me. Probably well deserved as the only similarity is a globe map. I’m hoping Mass Effect uses some of what made XCOM so great. Stuff like base building, squad management and leveling, technology trees, research and economics.

Let’s hope the rumors are true, we’ll have to wait and see.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Shit. I forgot about that. I loved it, but honestly, never really got my head round it. Bloody turn based games.

Comment by J

*Wallows in light blue nostalgic pleasure*

Comment by Frag




Leave a Reply

